Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 5th, 2009

If you haven’t heard from me in awhile, it’s not  because I’ve stopped reading, it’s just because there are a few more important things to do at my house.  The first one is, of course, a new baby.  The second is that I am homeschooling full time now.  In case you didn’t know it, I was a part-time homeschooler before, which is another story, for another time.  And finally, I am writing monthly articles for the Knoxville News-Sentinel, which has taken up any brain capacity I have left for creative endeavors.  This morning, however, I thought, “Enough is enough!  I have several posts rattling around in my brain that I must get out, be they ever so sloppy.”  So, here we go.

This morning I had the bright idea of doing some spring cleaning.  I asked my husband to drag the shop vac out of the garage for me so I could clean out the fire place which was filled with ash amounting to around 6 inches in height, evidence of chilly evenings filled with hot cocoa and conversation.  I turned the machine on and began happily sucking up the mess of black and grey when I heard my husbands voice over the fan, “Stop!  Stop!”  I looked back to see what the commotion was.  Had I sucked up a child?  A puppy?  Then to my dismay, I saw the black cloud of dust shooting out from the back of my machine and floating toward my kitchen, my hallway, and covering my living room furniture.  “Oh well,” I thought.  “I wanted to give everything a thorough cleaning anyway, so now I’m just forced to do it.”  

Later, as I was dutifully vacuuming (with my Sears Kenmore canister vacuum), my husband came up behind me laughing.  “You know, you’re just like that maid in the kids’ storybook.”

I thought for a moment.  “Oh, you mean Amelia Bedelia?” 

“Yeah, that’s the one.  You were ‘dusting the living room’.”

That I was.

Read Full Post »